Wolf Country Hot Springs


One of my favorite activities is a day in an Idaho hot spring. Hot springs are everywhere in the gem state, the majority of which are very remote. So while driving from Challis to Salmon I decided to stop for a dip. The dip required a 7 mile hike total, and was remote. I decided to stop and talk to the ranger in Challis before I embarked upon any solo hot springing. I specifically asked her about wolves. Afterall, this was wolf country; this was where they were released, and this is where they continue to reside. My biggest concern was for my dog Trooper. He likes to run off and explore all of the many sents that the mountains have to offer. She smirked a little and assured me we’d be fine.

During our journey we encountered no wolf threats. However, Trooper did find a dead wolf pup at a pit stop. I enjoyed a beautiful day and a phenomenal soak in an amazing cascade of hotsprings following a sweaty spring hike. During the hike, I was not afraid. The path belonged to humans and animals know this. Generally, the thing to fear most is other humans. I did keep Trooper close to me however as I know that his saftey is a legitimate concern while in wolf coutry.

One thought on “Wolf Country Hot Springs

  1. Hey Jami! I’ve really been enjoying your blog, so thanks for posting all this interesting information. I’ve always, always wanted to swim in a hot springs. It is definitely on my bucket list. Someday. For today I’ll do it vicariously through you. Love this picture.

Leave a comment