Heading East to Pocatello


 

Today I’m in Pocatello and am reminded of a general disrespect for space, environment, and even self found in many places throughout America. I went to a sauna at the Ramada Inn (where I am staying) and there were cigarette butts, beer cans and the shells of sunflower seeds inside. One can only imagine the amount of trash (which is a lot) on the neglected grassy noles that serve as landscaping outside. The natural landscape is surprisingly beautiful as Yellowstone N.P. creeps closer and closer. However, the upkeep of the town is surprising in contrast where beer cans and cigarette butts are found anywhere and everywhere. I am constantly walking past trash on the ground but don’t stop to pick it up, as I normally would, because it seems hopeless. Granted, this is a college town but I have been to plenty of clean college towns. Socioeconomics probably comes into play; less money, less energy to spend on your surroundings. That’s probably stretching it a bit though. What’s this got to do with wolves? I don’t know. It’s definitely got something to do with natural resource management and respect for the land and self. This much smoking and drinking can’t be healthy. If people struggle to take care of themselves that is what they focus on, not engaging in their environment.

 

5 thoughts on “Heading East to Pocatello

  1. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to
    do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. kudos

  2. Its not my first time to pay a quick visit this web site, i am browsing this site dailly and take nice
    information from here all the time.

Leave a comment